Undergraduate Studies Committee

The Chemistry Undergraduate Studies Committee (USC) consists of several chemistry faculty and our undergraduate program coordinator. They serve as academic advisors and handle undergraduate student concerns including declaration of a major or minor, petitions for waiver or substitution of program requirements, and other curriculum or program questions. Faculty members listed below have primary responsibilities for undergraduates studies. All committee members are "authorized signatures" for required paperwork to declare a major or minor in chemistry. Requests for transfer of course credit should be directed to Deb Contestabile.

While a member of this committee is a good place to start if you have questions, students should also feel free to contact any of their professors or peer advisors with questions.

Deb ContestabileDeb Contestabile
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
(585) 276-3663
Hutchison 404D

Faculty Advisors

GoodmanProfessor Joshua L. Goodman (Committee Chair)
(585) 275-4891
Hutchison 460

Mechanistic Organic Chemistry

Farrar Professor James Farrar
(585) 275-5834
Hutchison B19
Dynamical studies of low energy ion-molecule reactions in the gas phase; imaging studies of collisions; photochemistry of size-selected ionic clusters.

Frontier Professor Alison Frontier
(585) 275-2568
Hutchison 414
Synthetic organic chemistry; synthesis of bioactive natural products; pericyclic reactions; asymmetric catalysis; discovery of new reactions catalyzed by transition metal complexes.

Hafensteiner Dr. Benjamin Hafensteiner
(585) 275-1936
Hutchison 124

General and Organic Chemistry

Krugh Professor Thomas R. Krugh
(585) 275-4224
Hutchison 459

Biophysical Chemistry; structural analysis of biomolecules, energy minimization and molecular dynamics calculations

Schroeder Professor Wolf Udo Schröder
(585) 275-8263
Hutchison 466

Dynamics of Complex Nuclear Reactions at intermediate and high energies

Committee Functions

Chemistry Major or Minor Advisor: Any Committee Member
Approval for Transfer Credit Goodman & Contestabile
Senior Research Theses and Symposium: Krugh & Contestabile
ACS Student Affiliates Advisor: Krugh
Review of Senior Transcripts & Latin Honors: Goodman & Contestabile
Review of Transcripts and Readmission Applications: Goodman
Undergraduate Awards and Nominations:: Goodman & Contestabile
Graduation Ceremonies: Goodman & Contestabile
Review of Freshman Academic Handbook, Undergraduate Course Description, Bulletin for Undergraduate Studies: Goodman & Contestabile
Review of Formal Petitions: Committee
College Fall, Spring, and Summer Advising Meetings: Committee