July 10, 2012

Rich Eisenberg to receive the William H. Nichols Medal Award

Congratulations to Rich Eisenberg who has been named the 2013 William H. Nichols Medal Award winner "for contributions to Inorganic Photochemistry!"

In 1902, William H. Nichols, a charter member of the ACS and President in 1918 and 1919, established an award for the purpose of encouraging original research in chemistry. Dr. Nichols, himself a pioneer in the development of the chemical industry in the United States, was among the first to realize the importance of encouraging chemical research in America. The William H. Nichols Medal Award, the oldest award presented by a local section (New York) of the ACS, recognizes outstanding achievement in chemical research. To date, 16 recipients of the Nichols Medal have also received the Nobel Prize, the most recent being Alan G. MacDiarmid, who received the Nobel Prize in 2000 and the Nichols Medal in 2002. The Nichols Medal will be presented to Professor Eisenberg sometime in the spring of 2013.