April 12, 2012

Jessica Smith receives Eli Lilly Travel Award

The Women Chemists Committee (WCC) of the American Chemical Society were pleased to announce that Ms. Jessica Smith was one of 12 recipients nationally of the 2012 Eli Lilly Travel Award. This award provides funding for female undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral fellows to travel to a national meeting and present their research. This is a highly-competitive award and is a testament to Ms. Smith's achievements that she was selected from a large pool of candidates. Jessica met the WCC Co-Chairs at the ACS National Meeting in San Diego, CA. In addition to her divisional presentation, she presented her work at an awardee poster session, was recognized at the WCC Luncheon, and dined with Madeleine Jacobs, Executive Director of the ACS, Dr. Matthew Platz, Chemistry Division Director of the NSF, as well as members of the WCC committee. Great job Jessica!