Chemistry Highlights

Bradley Nilsson Recipient of the 2016 Goergen Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching


Bradley Nilsson Chemistry Professor Bradley Nilsson has been selected to receive the 2016 Goergen Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. The award will be presented at a special award ceremony in the Hawkins Carlson Room located in Rush Rhees Library at 4:00pm on Wednesday October 5, 2016, just before Meliora Weekend.

The award recognizes Professor Nilsson for his excellence in teaching the first semester undergraduate organic chemistry laboratory courses, and the second semester organic chemistry lecture courses. He also developed a graduate level course in Bioorganic Chemistry and Chemical Biology; advanced undergraduate students account for 84% of student enrollment. Along with classroom performance, the award recognizes innovation in course design and curriculum, teaching methods and style, integration of research and teaching, and the ability to create a rigorous and relevant environment in the classroom, where students of all abilities and experiences with chemistry are stimulated and challenged. (more)


Events & Seminars

Recent News

Scroll Up Scroll Down

September 15, 2016
Bradley Nilsson Recipient of the 2016 Goergen Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.  more...

September 1, 2016
Chemistry Department Celebrates 90th Birthday for Professor Emeritus William Saunders.  more...

August 20, 2016
UR Chemistry Grad Students Volunteer with Horizons Program.  more...

July 13, 2016
Lauren Bolz (CHM BS ’17) Back from New Zealand.  more...

July 11, 2016
Reactions: Ellen Matson.  more...

July 8, 2016
Susan Cardinal Wins Chemistry Department Sandra Beach Award.  more...

June 24, 2016
Neidig recognized by Department of Energy.  more...

June 9, 2016
Chemistry Welcomes New Inorganic Materials Faculty member, Dr. Kathryn Knowles.  more...

June 1, 2016
Laura Ackerman chosen as finalist of the 2016 Reaxys PhD Prize.  more...

May 20, 2016
Professors Fasan, Benoit, and Frisch Receive University Research Award .  more...

May 10, 2016
Undergraduate Chemistry Awards.  more...

May 6, 2016
Christine Ziegler, Rachel Kasimer and Lauren Bolz win University awards!.  more...

April 27, 2016
NIH Renews Funding for Research on Reductive Coupling.  more...

March 29, 2016
NSF Graduate Research Fellowships Awarded to Astrid Olivares & Two Chemistry Alums. Others Receive Honorable Mentions..  more...

October 20, 2016 • 4:00 PM
Catalytic Transformations That Utilize Bimetallic Cooperation
Professor Neal Mankad
Hutchison Hall 473

October 25, 2016 • 2:00 PM
» W. Albert Noyes Jr. Memorial Lecture
Microdroplet Chemistry
Professor Richard Zare
Goergen 108

October 26, 2016 • 12:00 PM
Mechanistic Studies on Polyhydride-Catalyzed Transformations
Professor Sylviane Sabo-Etienne
Lander Auditorium, 140 Hutchison Hall

November 2, 2016 • 12:00 PM
Developing Early Transition Metal Complexes for the Catalytic Synthesis of Amine
Professor Laurel L. Schafer
Hutchison Hall 140, Lander Auditorium

November 4, 2016 • 9:00 AM
Reflections on a Decade of Library Construction
Professor Jeff Aubé
Hutchison Hall 473

November 7, 2016 • 4:00 PM
Short and Long-range Excitonic Coupling in Molecular Aggregates: A New Paradigm for Designing Organic Electronic Materials
Professor Frank Spano
Hutchison Hall 473

November 9, 2016 • 12:00 PM
How Hydrogen is Made Naturally
Professor Thomas B. Rauchfuss
Hutchsion Hall 140 Lander Auditorium