The 2012 Harrison Howe Awardee

Xiaoliang Sunney Xie
Harvard University

The Rochester Section of the American Chemical Society is proud to announce the selection of Prof. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie, a Professor of Chemistry at Harvard University, as the 2012 recipient of the Harrison Howe Award.

Xie and his group are working at the interface of several disciplines, striving to develop new physical and chemical tools to solve compelling biological problems. Xie has made major contributions to the emergence of the field of single-molecule biophysical chemistry and its application to biology. Recently, they have developed a new DNA sequencing method that offers potentially low cost and fast turnaround time for genome analyses. They are exploring single cell genomics, which allows the determination of the genome of an individual cell. His team also pioneered the development of coherent Raman scattering microscopy. With a wealth of physical and chemical tools, Xie's group is excited to make both scientific and technological contributions to life science as it is becoming a data-rich, quantitative science.

This award was presented in conjunction with the 2012 ACS Northeast Regional Meeting (NERM), which took place September 30 – October 3, 2012. On Tuesday, October 2nd, the Harrison Howe keynote lecture began at 1:00 in the afternoon. Later in the day, a banquet was held (6:00 pm) followed by the public award presentation (7:30 pm), free lecture, and reception.

The Harrison Howe Award is dedicated to the memory of Harrison E. Howe, 1881—1942, a cofounder of the ACS Rochester Section and a well-known chemist, editor, and author. The award was established to recognize a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to chemistry or closely related fields and who shows great potential for further achievement. Recent winners of the award include Jack Szostak (2003), Michael Marletta (2004), Laura Kiessling (2005), Daniel Nocera (2008), Carolyn Bertozzi (2009), and Joseph DeSimone (2011).

For more information about the Harrison Howe Award lecture and event, please contact Bradley Nilsson, Chair of the Harrison Howe Award Committee and Associate Professor of Chemistry or Terri Clark, Development Administrator, at the University of Rochester.