Chemistry Highlights

New Faculty Member and Research on Nanoscale Dynamical Processes: Theory and Computation

Ignacio Franco, Professor of Chemistry. Physical and Theoretical Chemistry.

Ignacio Franco joined the Chemistry faculty at the University of Rochester in July 2013. Ignacio received his B.Sc. in chemistry from the National University of Colombia in 2001. After completing the diploma program in condensed matter physics at The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste in 2002, he moved to the University of Toronto to pursue a Ph.D. in theoretical chemical physics under the guidance of Paul Brumer. Ignacio’s Ph.D. work was in the field of Quantum Control and focused on investigating the use of lasers to induce ultrafast controllable currents along nanoscale junctions. In 2008 he joined Northwestern as a postdoctoral fellow in the groups of Mark A. Ratner and George C. Schatz where he worked on the theory and simulation of single-molecule pulling experiments. He then moved to Berlin to take a position as group leader and Humboldt research fellow in the Theory Department of the Fritz Haber Institute in 2011, where he investigated electronic decoherence processes in molecules.


Events & Seminars

Recent News

Scroll Up Scroll Down

March 24, 2014
Douglas Turner Wins 2014 UR Lifetime Achievement Award in Graduate Education.  more...

May 6, 2014
Daniel Weix wins Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award.  more...

May 6, 2014
Barbara Snaith and Elly York Win Chemistry Department Award.  more...

May 6, 2014
Daniel Everson selected as 2013-2014 Outstanding Dissertation Award Winner in the Natural Sciences for the University of Rochester.  more...

May 6, 2014
Rochester Distinguished Scholar Award goes to Dr. Yuh-geng Tsay .  more...

October 18, 2014 • 4:30 PM
Gates Happy Hour 2014
Faculty, alumni and guests are invited to attend this special Meliora weekend event.
Havens Lounge- Wilson Commons

September 3, 2014 • 12:00 PM
Size-Programmed Synthesis of Lead Selenide Quantum Dots
Amanda Preske
Hutchison Hall 473

September 8, 2014 • 4:00 PM
Oxazolinylborate Metal Compounds and Catalysis
Professor Aaron Sadow
Hutchison Hall 473

September 12, 2014 • 9:00 AM
Bio-mimetic Carbon Capture and Release: Cooperative CO2 Binding and Microvascular Materials Design
Professor Aaron Esser-Kahn
Hutchison Hall 473